I Guess I’m a Bad Parent!

JoelRobinson Photography

JoelRobinson Photography

“The thing that impresses me most about America is the way parents obey their children.” -Edward, Duke of Windsor, Look, 5 March 1957

Oh how true this is… There is a serious problem in society where children have far to much freedom and rule over the home. If I did half the stuff I see kids do now or spoke to my parents the way I have heard Children speak to theirs, I don’t think I would have made it this far.

I have been called a bad parent by other parents for a few things that make my jaw drop. We don’t have cable not because we don’t like TV it’s simply because its a luxury we don’t need it, I will not allow a TV or Computer in My child’s room, and I will go into my child’s room and search her backpack without permission. This is not because i don’t trust my child it is because sometimes our children our forgetful and we have to do a once over to make sure all is well. My 9 year old does not wonder the streets after dark (Oh yes i see this happen everyday and some are even younger), I know who my child is spending time with and have met most of their parents, I know my child’s teachers, and my child helps out around the house. We have rules for a reason.

I guess If knowing my child is happy, safe, has a roof over her head, has good education, appropriate friends, and smiles daily makes me a bad parent then I don’t mind being a bad parent. I am an “involved parent” and my child will be better off for it!

Leave a Reply

