Being a Single Mom (In the Beginning)

Image

 

This is me and my miss.. She is my whole world. I remember when I found out I was pregnant with her and I was so scared. I was 19, single and felt so alone. I had been living in Victoria when i met her father. he instantly became a huge part of my world and i didn’t want it any other way. after awhile I was offered a job in Kelowna a that I couldn’t pass up and I moved. We tried the long distance thing but it just didn’t work. After working in Kelowna for a few months I was getting sick all the time and decided that it was time to go home. I went back to Cranbrook started working again and was enjoying my life but still getting sick alot. It was four months into my pregnancy that my Doctor gave me the news.I was going to be a mom…..

Learning to do it on my own was a scary thing…. i have wonderful support in my family but even with that I had this whole new responsibility thrown into my lap and I really didnt knwo if I was ready for it…. 

My angel was born April 23, 2003 6 weeks early. She was 6lbs 1oz and 21″ long. The moment she was placed in my arms for the first time I knew that my life had just changed in a big way and I was already completely and madly in love with the precious gift I had been blessed with. sleepless nights of partying were now changed to sleepless nights of feedings and bum changes and I really didn’t mind. I was learning a whole new way to live my life because it wasn’t just about me anymore.

I knew that being on my own was going to be tough but I didn’t know just how tough it was going to be. My daughter has absolutely no relationship with her birth Father;s family and that is because they chose to make it that way and it breaks my heart every day especially when I get the questions that only they can answer.

Leave a Reply

