Giving Back

“Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile.” ~ Albert Einstein

 

One of my best friends has been in town for the last few weeks. We are both very driven women, we are both mothers, we both have a significant other in our life who we cherish and love deeply who both happen to have jobs that take them away from home, we are both self employed, and we both desire to give back to the world using what we know and our personally abilities and means to what we can for who we can when we can. This woman is one of the best people I know. Her heart is big and she loves deeply especially when it comes to the people and things that mean the most to her. I admire her determination to make a difference and am thankful everyday to have her in my life. We have been enjoying each others company and helping with each others children and encouraging each other to do more and be better then who we were yesturday. 

A couple weeks ago we were at the local farmers market checking out different vendors and learning about some up and coming events and finding potential people to help with my wedding next summer. On this particular Saturday morning we met a man dressed in a hot pink t-shirt Named Fast Eddy. I was instantly drawn to him and what he was trying to accomplish and so was my friend. Fast Eddy isn’t just your average somebody. This man has a higher purpose and calling in the world. like Us he wants to give back and make a difference in the world. Eddy is raising money for 2 causes, Alzheimer’s and Breast Cancer. He is doing so by running across Canada and then turning around and running right back. When Eddy completes his run he will have been the first Canadian to run across the country unassisted as well as the first person to run both directions. All i keep thinking is “WOW” how can I help? On Sunday night we were able to take the first step and be part of his amazing fundraiser dinner and now we are looking at other ways we can help. I have already made a promos that his cause will be where the Fall/Winter fundraising focus will be for my business. I am also looking at other ways I can personally help and when I know his rout will be reaching out to the friends and family i have across the country who can give him a place to rest his head for a night.

I frequently talk about Charity and giving back because its important. When we are blessed where others are not I believe it is our duty a humans to give without expectation. I only ever request that the next person simply pay it forward. What I see in this man is a man that has a big heart and a strong will to achieve a goal for something that is dear to his heart and I honestly wish there were more people like him in the world. Far to often we see people who talk about wanting to make a difference in the world but they do nothing. Eddy sees something and says “how can I make a difference?” this attitude of his is motivation and insperation and more young people could learn from his lead. 

To Learn more about Fast Eddy visit him on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/FastEddyDostaler/timeline 

To Learn more About my Friend Laura you can visit her on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/abetterunow

Leave a Reply

