No More Excuses

Ok, it’s confession time. I am absolutely %100 guilty of making excuses!.. Shocker? Not really. We all do it but over coming the excuses is what is important. You can not reach your full potential if you constantly give reasons not to.

It is proven that making excuses can actually have very very negative effects on your whole life. Making excuses is a self-handicapping that can hurt you. psychologist have proven that people use excuses to protect their self-esteem but these excuses are going to have lasting negative effects.The problem with self-handicapping is pretty obvious, i.e., you don’t give yourself the best chance, so you don’t get the best result. Sure enough self-handicapping behaviours are associated with lower motivation, less persistence at difficult tasks, less self-guided learning and lower performance in general.

When I look at my own life and i think about all the excuses I have made and when i have made those excuses life pretty much sucked. When I chose to make no excuses and face things head on I was able to achieve so much more then I thought possible and I have made a choice that there will be no excuses anymore because I want to live the best life I can live and be a good example to my children especially my daughter.

When I look at the lives of others I see that those who are making a difference in the world and succeeding at reaching their dreams I see people, who despot adversity and hardship, make no excuses. In my last blog I spoke about Eddy. When he started his mission he had only set a goal of raising money and awareness for Alzheimer’s and was going to run19654km across Canada by himself. As things progressed he learnt of some sad news that a very influential person in his life had passed and instead of looking at this as a defeat it was like a new challenge and he added a cause dear to his friend heart to his goal and decided to raise money and Awareness for Breast Cancer and on the day that happens to be my Birthday he will be taking off and Running 21,585.86km. Even when people call him down or laugh t his goals he makes no excuses and his focus stays on his goal.

If you look at the most successful people in the World they have one thing in common. They refuse to give up and they don’t make excuses that would allow themselves to do so.

I am a mother, a wife(to be), a daughter, a sister, a friend and advocate for causes dear to my heart. I also run my own business and will soon be expanding into a new business venture and I am confident that I will succeed because there are no excuses that can stop me from achieving my dreams.

 

 

success-occurs-when-your-dreams-are-bigger-than-your-excuses-quote-1

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. BeWithUs
    Jul 03, 2014 @ 15:24:33

    All the best to you, my friend!

    Cheers!! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

