Old School Views in a New School World

I’m 31 years young, I’m a mother and a soon to be wife. I live in society but I feel I am not completely part of society. I don’t agree with same sex unions, I think finding God could solve a lot of people’s personal problems, I teach my children that manners are important and that they can’t always get what they want. I think courting is far more appealing than modern dating, I believe in monogamy, charitable work is important, traditional gender roles are acceptable, men should be the head of home and provide for their families and a woman’s first priority after God is to her family and home.

Now I want to clarify a few things. When I say I don’t agree with same sex Unions I am not saying these people are bad people, in fact, some of my favourite people in the world are gay and I value them as people. They are the first to defend my views against others and we have so much respect for each other as individuals. We just happen to view some things differently.

I find far to many parents are trying to be their child’s friend first and their parent second. Being a parent is a privilege not a right and when we are blessed with such amazing and precious gifts we need to remember that it is our job yo guide them and teach them so that they can grow in to great adults and role models for the future. Your child is not supposed to rule the roost, you are. If you are a parent first and a friend second your children will most likely grow to value you more.

We live in a very sexually free world where promiscuity is normal and commitment to one person is laughed at. How is this ok? STD’s and STI’s are becoming a normal thing and so are things like teen pregnancy and so many mothers and fathers raising children on their own and abortion is being used as a form of birth control because there is no commitment. Why do people think that it is ok to sleep around and not deal with consequences of their actions?

I speak a lot about charity and the importance of giving to others who are less fortunate. I recently heard a nan complaining that a store he loved had gone out of business and he could no longer get the $100 pair of jeans he really wanted and I couldn’t help but think about the amount of food that $100 could buy for a struggling family. His first world problem was my 3rd world thought and if he would have been thinking more about others and less about himself, he could have potentially made a huge difference in the life of somebody else.

My views on traditional gender roles generates some Heated discussion at times. I believe that a woman’s priority is to her family and home and. Mans job is to provide for his family and be a leader in his home. Now don’t get me wrong, I have no issues with women working out of the home and helping out finically especially when times are tight. I don’t even have an issue with stay home dads but for me personally it’s not what I believe God wants for my family. We are fortunate do be in a position where I can stay at home while my fiancé works and I can be in charge of my child’s education and the daily goings on of our household. I do work but I work from home helping people with their health, body and skin through It Works! As well as making life smell better as a Scentsy Consaultant. My schedule is worked around the needs of my family first.

This is how I choose to live my life. Through prayer and conversation with my support network I have come to the beliefs that this is what My God wants for my life. I do not cast judgement on others. In fact, I love knowing how others views differ from my own. I refuse to live my life any differently then I believe I should and I expect no different from any other.

My prayer for you is at you will follow your heart and live your best possible life. Stick you your convictions, do not cast judgement, be kind to others and love completely.

The Families of Northern Canada are struggling to survive with something as simple as a bunch of grapes costing $10-$14 or a flat of bottled water costing over $100. If you would like to help send stuff to families in northern Canada one way is to go on to http://www.dannielleport.scentsy.ca and make a Scentsy purchase connected to the Food For The North Party or to contact me directly dannielleport@live.ca or txt or call 250-908-0535. If you would like more information on Scentsy or It Works! You can always email, call or txt and I would be happy to take your order, answer your questions or even get you singed up.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. PlumTreeDreamer
    Feb 07, 2015 @ 06:37:18

    You may look strange to the world but I think you’re beautiful! Keeping fighting and keep writing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

