Teaching God’s Word

“Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old , he will not depart from it.” Proverbs 22:6 (KJV)

Train (verb)
: to teach (someone) the skills needed to do something (such as a job) : to give instruction to (someone)

: to be taught the skills needed to do something (such as a job)

: to cause (someone or something) to develop an ability or skill

So what does this mean as a Parent? It means that we are given a job to educate our children, teaching the difference between that which is right and that which is wrong. We should be giving them the tools to become outstanding citizens in the world. We should be teaching them faith, love and compassion. We should be teaching our children to be productive with their time here on earth, guiding them on a path which will allow them to become gracious, hard working, loving and God fearing adults. We are not to make our children fear us but they should respect us and we should lead by example. We are human and we are flawed, but our ability to seek out answers through prayer and to overcome that which seems difficult will show our children that it is ok to not be perfect but to keep trying and keep going back to God for guidance.

I am very fortunate right now to be able to share Gods love for us with some children other than my own. As a tutor I am given the opportunity to help with subjects I am comfortable teaching and one of my favourites is Bible. A friend of mine decided this year that she would homeschool her boys (pre-school and Kindergarten). They are not a Christian family but they see value in Christian Education. I haven been given the opportunity to help them reach their outcomes for Bible. When another friend found out I would be setting the boys up for their Bible study once a week she approached me to help one of her daughters. They are also not a Christian family, but her older daughter regularly attends Jr. Youth with my daughter and her younger one was feeling very left out. As a mother, she also sees the value in learning about God even if she herself is not a Christian. My heart smiles when other parents who may not necessarily have a personal relationship with God come to me and ask me to help give their child the opportunity to explore all their spiritual and religious option by teaching them what I believe in.

Once a week I get to welcome another homeschool family and a public school child into my home to teach them about Gods love and by doing so I am able to help these families “train up” their children. If they can take away one thing from their weekly lessons, I hope they learn that they are loved completely.

IMG_0391.JPG

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Dec 05, 2014 @ 21:35:02

    New to your blog and I’m looking forward to reading your posts!

    Reply

Leave a comment